Blackberry-Apple Jelly

This adventure started out as trying to make my own liquid pectin from (sour) apples for making jelly. I attempted the recipe found here, but I did not have cheese cloth for the staining. Instead I used my ancient berry/tomato de-seeder strainer and ended up with applesauce that had a high level of pectin (I hoped).

Not one to just give up, I went on to attempt to make blackberry jelly with my pectin applesauce. Worst case scenario, I told myself, we end up with blackberry applesauce. The results? Delicious blackberry-apple jelly. It was so good that Abby licked every bit off the stirring spoon when it was done.

Blackberry-Apple Jelly

Ingredients:

Pectin Applesauce
3 lbs tart apples (I used Granny Smiths)
4 cups water
2 tablespoons lemon juice (I used concentrate)

Blackberry-Apple Jelly
2 cups pectin applesauce
4 cups blackberry juice
7 cups sugar
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Directions:

  • Wash and chop tart apples.
  • In a large pot add apples, water, and lemon juice.
  • Boil until reduced almost half (30 to 40 minutes), stirring occasionally.
  • Strain mixture to remove seeds, skin, etc.
  • Return mixture to the pot to boil for another 20 minutes.
  • Prepare your berry juice (I used an electric juicer, but have have juiced/sieved/de-seeded in the past).
  • Add juice to the pectin applesauce and bring to a boil.
  • Add lemon juice and mix in sugar.
  • Bring back to a boil for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Place a small spoonful of the jelly on a plate and place it on the freezer for a couple minutes. If it sets (gels) to your liking, remove the pot from the heat.*
  • Ladle into sterile jars with lids.
  • Can in a hot water bath. Process for 10 minutes.

*If it does not set, add 1/2 cup more sugar and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, bring to a boil for 5 more minutes and test again.

It’s great on PB&J’s or on toast. Abby thinks it’s perfect straight from the jar… Little jelly monster.

Have you tried making jelly? Tell me about it.

Leave a Reply

