Entering the World

Looking back on how my three minions monsters bundles of joy came into the world, I have to laugh.

#1 First Time Mom
After a year and a half of marriage, we tried a whole three months for a baby before we decided to wait on kids. We were in the process of buying a house and a baby would just be too stressful. Lo and behold if my uterus didn’t harbor that egg just to spite me. I was terrified and excited and in total shock when that first test showed those two lines as clear as day not 30 seconds after peeing on that stick.

We found out she was, well, a she. We argued about names and finally settled on Abigail (“father’s joy”–what mom can argue with that?). I started trying to mentally prepare for an all natural, non-medicated labor with my midwife. I was determined (as most first time moms start out).

Third trimester rolled around and I started swelling. It was fine because I read that swelling in pregnancy is normal. Then my blood pressure started rising with each visit to my midwife. A 24 hour urinalysis (finally) confirmed it was preeclampsia–something I, the first time mom, had never heard of. Luckily I was 36 weeks along by then. My midwife scheduled me to be induced the day I hit 37 weeks.

To say that I was disappointed that I was being medically induced would be an understatement. However, I still had my first-time-mom determination. Monday night I went in to start the process. Nothing. Tuesday, started on pitocin. Nothing. 3 something Wednesday morning, several nurses fly into my room to roll me to my side saying something about “distress.” Next in comes my midwife telling me the doctor has been called in for my emergency cesarean.

Dazed, confused, tired, scared, I just go with it.

At 4:21 AM she was cut from my womb.

 

#2 The VBAC
After Abby, I started doing reseach about VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean). I was determined that I would have my unmedicated, vaginal birth. November 2013, those two little lines told me I would get my chance.

Fast forward through a healthy pregnancy with the boy monster–no complications, except for having prodromal labor (often thought to be “false” labor) for about three weeks. Boyo finally decided to make his appearance one week and one day after he was due. I made it to 8 cm before I begged for the epidural. A couple of hours later, I watched him crown and I cried my eyes out. I got my VBAC.

 

#3 Be Careful What You Ask For
Liam was getting big and snuggling less, sending out baby fever to the ovaries, who obliged with another healthy pregnancy. Again, I was determined to have another successful VBAC, but this time sans epidural. Again, this past March, I got another chance.

Little did I know that this little girl was competitive even before she entered the world. She apparently wanted to beat her brother’s womb-staying record and I was scheduled to be induced at 41 weeks and 1 day via Foley catheter and a little pitocin. Unbeknownst to me, however, the nurse bumped my pitocin up every time she came to “check” on me.

Six hours in I was 6-ish cm. I had made it so long but with the ever increasing intensity of my contractions (thanks, pitocin), I again broke, and begged for relief.

Sitting up, hunched over as far as I could with that huge watermelon of a belly, the anesthesiologist numbed my back in preparation to insert the epidural catheter line. Well, that didn’t freaking happen. About then I felt my little monster descend to the point of no return. Lots of screaming and three agonizing pushes and she was out. It all happened so fast that my husband almost missed the show…

I would be lying if I told you I looked at her lovingly when they flopped her up on my chest… but I got just what I asked for: an unmedicated VBAC.

 

Honestly, I wouldn’t change any of my three experiences for the world. Each was unique and challenging in its own way (much like each monster it brought into the world). But I won’t lie, I wanted to have a natural, unmedicated birth because I wanted to feel strong and empowered. I’m not sure if it’s because I reached my “goal” or if it just sucked that much, but I am very much convinced that my gremlin is my grande finale. And what a finale she is.

 

What was bringing your baby(s) into the world like? Tell me about it.

Leave a Reply

