Sourdough Pizza Crust

Oh I was so excited to be done with buying dry active yeast. I had my precious sourdough. But then it hit me. How am I going to make pizza? I had only ever found recipes for dry active yeast, but there must be one out there! The first pizza was not made with dry active yeast.

So I searched and searched… and searched.  There were two problems: either the recipe would take almost an entire 24 hours from start to finish or it called for dry active yeast and sourdough starter. I finally settled for this. Like most sourdough recipes it calls for starting it the night before, letting it rise… and rise… and rise… and wait, but I tried it anyway. The results were okay. It was definitely a sourdough crust. Abby said it was too “sourdoughy” and she was right. If sourdough is not the flavor of your heart and soul, the above recipe is probably not for you.

Not one to give up, I knew there had to be a middle ground, a dough that didn’t take 24 hours but didn’t require more than just starter. I remembered that the longer you let sourdough rise the more sour it becomes. So I decided to try letting it rise for a shorter time. Like, eight hours instead of all night and most of the day. It rose, it rolled out beautifully, and it was delicious.

Since I can’t share the actual pizza, I’ll share the recipe.

Sourdough Pizza Crust

Ingredients:
5 cups flour
1 cup starter
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 cups water

Directions:
Combine and knead all ingredients.
Cover with a towel and let sit in a warm place to rise for about eight hours.
Preheat oven to 400*F.
Punch down and roll out (makes approximately two 18-22 inch crusts).
Top with your preferred toppings and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Now that is some pizza.

 

 

Have you tried sourdough pizza crust? Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

