HOT Sauce

The first time I made hot sauce, I was so excited. I am not a glutton for punishment (unlike my husband) when it comes to hot stuff, but I do enjoy a little hot sauce on occasion. So when I found a recipe, I had to try it.

While simmering the peppers (jalepenos and cayennes), onion, and garlic, it about took the breath out of me. I knew it was going to be hot. Once it was done, I bravely tasted it. Instead of fireworks, I got fizzles. It tingled my tongue, but it was not the hot I was expecting.

Fast forward a few weeks. I decided I was going to make HOT sauce. Armed with some more serious peppers to go with my jalapenos, and a revised version of the recipe, I was ready. I made my HOT sauce and I got my fireworks. It. Was. HOT. And I was happy.

If you are ready to brave the fire, scroll on!

HOT Sauce

Ingredients:
15 jalapenos, diced
1 habaneros, sliced*
1 ghost chili*
1 cayenne*
1/2 cup onion, diced
1 tablespoon dried, mince garlic (or roughly 3 cloves)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup water
1 cup white vinegar

Directions:
Slice and dice peppers** and onion.***
In a pan, saute peppers, onion, and garlic for about 5 minutes.
Add water and simmer for 20 minutes.
Remove from heat and allow to cool.
Place mixture in a blender or food processor, slowly add vinegar, and puree until smooth.
Pour into a sterilized jar with an airtight lid.

*If you are not looking for HOT sauce, stick to your jalapenos!
**For less heat, remove seeds.
***Wear gloves when working with hot peppers. The oils transfer to your skin.

So there you have it. HOT sauce. This should keep for about six months in the refrigerator.

 

 

Have you tried homemade hot sauce? Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

